4Men – Vol. 4: The Artist

Released: 2011. 06. 14

01. I Feel So Nice 
02. Puzzle
03. I Love You
04. Crush (Feat. 美 [Mi]) 
05. Once While You Live
06. Oasis
07. That Can’t Be
08. Go Away
09. Love Sick
10. My Girlfriend
11. I Do (I Will Try to Live) 
12. Never Leave You 
13. I Can’t Forget
14. Once While You Live (Inst.) 
15. I Love You (Inst.) 


After nearly 6 months, 4Men marked their return in holding with them their 4th album “The Artist” this past June. The group being produced by one of the legendary ballad vocalist – Yoon Min Soo of Vibe – yet again contributes in the production of this album alongside with the help of famous composers such as Rado, Wheesung, and even member Shin Yong Jae himself for various tracks in the album.

The intro track “I Feel So Nice” kicks off the album into a relaxing, jazzy feel with “Puzzle” following shortly after in kicking up the slow jazz up a notch with added brass sounds in the background along with a more livelier melody. As for the rest of the tracks, it’s definitely notable of the transition 4Men makes after each track, going from lively to making sure they slow down just right in serenading the audience with their soothing vocals. Not only that, but the album was definitely diverse in terms of genre. Often times it’s difficult for ballad artists to try new things and tend to stick to their forte, but 4Men definitely was able to captivate no matter what route in each and every track.

4Men never tends to disappoint me with anything they release, whether it being their past albums or featuring in OSTs for dramas, as they yet again met my expectations for a quality album with superb vocals with the incentive of not just a full ballad album, but something anyone can listen through in any mood they feel. Again, with the hands of brilliant composers and producers holding hands with 3 amazing vocalists, I recommend this album to even non-fans of 4Men in taking a break from the standard music in the industry for something soothing to the ears. 

Rating: 5/5
5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet