Gyenggido Rhythm Ensemble Volume 1 – fi:l

01 . Inspiration

02 . 비상

03 . 아리랑 Fantasy

04 . Havanera (Opera ‘Carmen’)

05 . Hungarian Dance No.5


Gyenggido Rhythm Ensemble is a group of men who plays various
instruments like the trombone, drums, trumpet, and saxophone who give very
lively performances. Though their first album has released only recently, they
have been performing together since 1999. The first track
“Inspiration” is interesting and makes one feel as if they could
possibly be at their concert. There are various melodies that are upbeat and
yet slow but relaxing. The songs also have a hint of modern musical instruments
mixed with a cultural feel like that of “Havenera” because of the
Techno beats. Along with that, their music is a new experiment of music that
combines Western music with a variety of genres and the fusion of music. In the
meantime, they have held over 2,000 performances not just in Korea but in China
and Japan. If you are the type of person who enjoys listening to instrumental
or dramatic sorts of music this is the album for you.

Rating: 3/5

5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.

3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.

2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet.