Mate Vol. 1 – Be Mate

Tracklist :
01. 고백 (Confession)
02. 그리워
03. Come Back To Me
04. Its Alright
05. 하늘을 날아
06. 너에게.. 기대
07. 우울한 너에게
08. 왜 (Why)
09. 난 너를 사랑해
10. 안녕 (Hello)


Songs that can give you goosebumps are definitely worth listening to. Heck, go out and buy the album already! Consisting of Im Heon Il (guitar and vocal), Lee Hyun Jae (drum), and Jung Joon Il (keyboard and vocal) the trio brings something amazing to the music industry. They aren’t your typical indie band. Even with no bassist, they are true winners. Having written and produced their own music, they are a band to look out for.

Their title song “Geuriwo” is slow and melodic. With Heon Il and Joon Il’s amazingly soothing voices, they really bring out the feelings of what a song is supposed to feel like. Their voices captures the hearts of listeners, I’ll guarantee you that. The first music video that was released, however, was “It’s Alright”. This is a slower song that has a nice repetitive chorus. Although “Geuriwo” and “It’s Alright” were slower songs, “Come Back To Me” is one of the faster upbeat songs. Along with “Confession” the two rock songs are a great listen.

Their songs didn’t really sound as indie as I had thought. At first it felt like I was listening to ballads, but you could really hear the instruments, which isn’t a bad thing, of course. The things I liked best about the album would have to be the slower songs. When they hit the middle parts, the songs would have this dramatic change like that of “Nan Neureul Sarang Hae”. It reminded me of Dear Cloud’s “Siam”, which also had a similar style. As a person who doesn’t listen indie music much, this is a very relaxing and satisfactory album. Even if I were a true and dedicated indie listener, this album is a must.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – Only a fan would buy this.
1/5 – Even a fan might be disappointed.