Spica – 1st Mini-Album: Russian Roulette

External from soompi image

01 Anger
02 Up N Down

03 Russian Roulette

04 No More
05 Diary
06 Spiteful

Purchase This Album

In midst of numerous rookie boy and girl group debuts, SPICA makes their name known this year with “Russian Roulette.” This mini-album includes six songs including a title track of the same name and a previously released digital single, “Spiteful.”

The album’s title and arguably the most notable track is “Russian Roulette,” a medium-tempo dance number co-composed by Han Jae Ho and Kim Seung Su. The song starts off with groovy beats and sounds, followed by deep, strong vocals. Initially, I wasn’t too impressed with the song due to the average melody of the song, but the group’s powerful vocals soon won me over. I wouldn’t mind listening to this song again.

In terms of the other songs, “Anger” is a dreamy, medium-tempo R&B track that showcases the group’s vocals. It’s an excellent number to start the album. On the other hand, “Up N Down” is an upbeat dance number with heavy electronica sounds and beats. Once more, I was very impressed by the vocals. The last song worth mentioning is “Diary,” a mainstream pop ballad number. Rather than focusing on the heavy beats and bass, this one stressed the emotions and the lyrics of the song.

Despite being a rookie group, SPICA has stood out from the rest. Their style is quite different from the usual mainstream dance music and the members’ vocals are quite amazing. I look forward to their future work.


5/5 – Even if you’re not a fan of this artist/group this album is a must buy.
4/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you must buy this album.
3/5 – If you’re a fan of this artist/group, you might want to add this one to your collection.
2/5 – I don’t think a fan would even buy this.
1/5 – You might as well just flush your money down the toilet