T-Ara‘s “Roly Poly” repeated as No. 1 with an even stronger score than last week. With strong competition around, this song has won the top spot on M!Countdown and SBS Inkigayo. K-Pop is full of popular girl groups now and there are many groups debuting after T-Ara, whose popularity has remained steadily high.

The closest challenger now is MBLAQ‘s “Mona Lisa”, which is 30 points to #2 behind “Roly Poly”. Just like another fast rising boy band Beast, MBLAQ debuted two years ago during the “year of girl group”. Now they have become one of the more popular boy bands in Korea. Recently, MBLAQ released their 3rd mini-album.  Their title track “Mona Lisa” is an electronic dance number with Spanish sounds. The song is about the difficulties in getting a certain girl, thus giving her a mysterious vibe like the famous Mona Lisa. This week it rises seven spots to No. 2.  Let see if “Mona Lisa” will become MBLAQ’s first ever chart topping hit next week.

MBLAQ will also hold off a brand new song which is taking all music charts by storm. It is Miss A‘s “Goodbye Baby”. One of last year’s top rookie groups, Miss A finally comes back now to join an already overcrowded girl group competition. The quartet is releasing their first full length album “A Class” which has been anticipated for months.  The title song “Goodbye Baby” debuts this week at No. 8 and is already on top of many internet rankings.  Next week this song will definitely join the battle for top spot.

Just behind Miss A is another brand new song debuting into the top 10. Hitman Bang’s project duo Homme, with members Changmin of 2AM and Lee Hyun of 8Eight, had a big hit “Eat Well” last year which was named top digital single at our year end soompi gayo award. The success bought them back this year with a limited edition single album. The title track “Laughing Because I’m a Guy” is the perfect song for fans who wanted to see more from the two singers. This week it debuts at No. 9. Lee Hyun now has two songs in the top 10 as his group 8Eight is still at No. 10 with “Block Those Lips”.


SOOMPI CHART for 2011, Month 7, Week 5

1. (–) T-Ara – 롤리 폴리 (Roly Poly) ***2nd Week @ No. 1***
Score: 917
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Choi Gyu Sung, Shin Sa Dong Tiger / Lyrics: Choi Gyu Sung, Shin Sa Dong Tiger
Album: John Travolta Wanna Be | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


2. (+7) MBLAQ – Mona Lisa
Score: 887
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Wontag, Ji In, Rado / Lyrics: Wontag, Ji In, Rado, Dok2
Album: MBLAQ mini-album Vol. 3 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


3. (–) 2PM – Hands Up
Score: 865
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Park Jin Young / Lyrics: Park Jin Young
Album: 2PM Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


4. (-2) Hyuna – Bubble Pop
Score: 846
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Choi Gyu Sung, Shin Sa Dong Tiger / Lyrics: Choi Gyu Sung, Shin Sa Dong Tiger
Album: Hyuna mini-album Vol. 1 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


5. (+1) Girl’s Day – 한 번만 안아줘 (Hug Me Just Once)
Score: 666
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Nam Ki Sung / Lyrics: Nam Ki Sung, Kang Joon Myung
Album: Girl’s Day mini-album Vol. 1 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


6. (-1) Secret – 별빛 달빛 (Starlight Moonlight)
Score: 556
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Kang Ji Won, Kim Ki Bum / Lyrics: Kang Ji Won, Kim Ki Bum
Album: Secret single album Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


7. (–) f(x) – Hot Summer
Score: 555
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: / Lyrics: Kenzie
Album: F(x) Vol. 1 repackaged version | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


8. (new) Miss A – Goodbye Baby
Score: 547
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Park Jin Young / Lyrics: Park Jin Young
Album: Miss A Vol. 1 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


9. (new) Homme – 남자니까 웃는 거야 (Laughing Because I’m A Guy)
Score: 525
Genre: R&B Ballad

Music: Hitman Bang / Lyrics: Hitman Bang
Album: Homme By Hitman Bang | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


10. (–) 8Eight – 그 입술을 막아본다 (Block Those Lips)
Score: 510
Genre: R&B Ballad

Music: Park Sun Zoo / Lyrics: Park Sun Zoo, Baek Chan, Kim Ina
Album: 8Eight mini-album: 8Eight | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


Rank Artist Song Score
11 Mighty Mouth (-3) 랄랄라 (LaLaLa (feat. Soya)) 467
12 CSJH (Dana & Sunday) (+2) 나 좀 봐줘 (One More Chance) 425
13 2NE1 (-9) 내가 제일 잘 나가 (I’m The Best) 421
14 Infinite (new) 내꺼 하자 (Be Mine) 379
15 Kim Hyun Joong (SS501) (+1) Kiss Kiss 369
16 Min Kyung Hoon (-5) She 368
17 After School (Red) (new) 밤 하늘에 (In The Night Sky) 344
18 After School (Blue) (new) Wonder Boy 321
19 Rumble Fish (-1) 사랑해요 사랑해요 (I Love You I Love You) 278
20 Lee Ki Kwang (Beast) & Electro Boys (+6) Break Up 275
21 Jung Yong Hwa (+1) 그리워서… (Because I Miss You…) 274
22 Baek Ji Young (+7) 오늘도 사랑해 (Love You Today Too) 255
23 Navi (-10) 다이어리 (Diary) 250
24 Jang Ki Ha & Faces (-5) 그렇고 그런 사이 (Be In Such A Relationship) 222
25 Kim Bum Soo (-10) 끝사랑 (End Love) 220
26 Jang Hye Jin & Ye Sung (Super Junior) (+14) 그대뒤에 있습니다 (Behind Your Back) 214
27 Beast (-3) Fiction 206
28 Rainbow (-16) Sweet Dream 204
29 4men (-9) 살다가 한번쯤 (One Time In Your Life) 185
30 Lyn (+3) Love Me For Me 172
31 Can (new) 눈부신 너에게 (To My Dazzling Girl) 145
32 ZE:A (-7) Watch Out 128
33 Chi Chi (new) Longer 124
34 Jang Woo Hyuk (+7) 주말밤 (Weekend Night) 118
35 HITT (+10) Good Night 118
36 Sunny Hill (-19) 미드나잇 서커스 (Midnight Circus) 113
37 Yim Jae Bum (–) 사랑 (Love) 109
38 Huh Gak (-10) 나를 잊지 말아요 (Don’t Forget Me) 105
39 W & Whale (+3) Break It Down 99
40 IU & Kim Yuna (-10) 얼음꽃 (Snow Flower) 90
41 BGH To (new) 솜사탕 (feat. 티아라 은정) (Cotton Candy) 80
42 Beige (new) 일기 (Diary) 78
43 Monday Kiz & Gavy NJ (-22) 빙빙빙 (Bing Bing Bing) 77
44 GP Basic (new) Jelly Pop 75
45 Piggy Dolls (new) 아는 여자 (This Girl I Know) 74
46 Jong Hyun (SHINee) (+1) So Goodbye 65
47 A Pink (-24) It Girl 62
48 Black Skirts (new) Love Shine 48
49 Evia & Mini (new) Mirro Of My Soul 42
50 As One (-15) 혼잣말 (Talk To Oneself) 41




In this segment we go back in time to re-visit charts of the same week in past years. The Soompi music chart began in January 2005. At first we had only 20 songs and was later expanded to 50 songs.

We are going back to 2005, the first year of our soompi chart. If I ask what is Kim Jong Kook‘s defining hit song, I think many fans will reply “One Man”. It is true that “One Man” is most fans’ favorite song, but it is “Walking From The Same Place” in the summer of 2005 that really made Kim Jong Kook one of the top male soloists in Korea. He still is now with his trademark high pitch voice. “Walking From The Same Place” is coming from Kim Jong Kook’s 3rd album “This Is Me”in 2005. This song spent five five weeks on top of our chart, starting the last week of July and almost all of August. This song brought Kim Jong Kook popularity and fame.  He went on to sweep the Dae Sangs in all three TV Stations that year, and did the same in our inaugural soompi gayo award. 

External from soompi image

Let’s review this song’s MV here.


About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music charts or television rankings.  It takes into account not only sales and rankings by various other charts in Korea, but also airplays of each song, the number of live performances and appearances, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-pop.  Our chart is composed of the following sources:

Air Monitor Chart – 15%
GAON Music Chart – 15%
Various Internet charts (Dosirak, Bugs, Melon, Naver, Monkey3, Daum, Cyworld, Soribada) – 15%
ChartKorea – 5%  
Hottracks Weekly Album Sales (1 weeks lag) – 10%
SBS (Inky Gayo Take 7 + SBS Mill weekly rankings) – 10%
MBC Inky Top 100 Chart – 10%
KBS Music Bank K-Chart – 10%
MNet M!Countdown – 5%

Gasoo appearance  on gayo shows  (MBC Music Core, SBS Inky Gayo, KBS Music Bank, M!Countdown) – 10%

Thanks to Mardi09 for helping on this week’s internet chart research and motoway065 for song title translations.