This is a transitional week on the chart as older songs starting to drop in points while newer songs are beginning to emerge. FT Island’s “Severely” repeats again as No. 1 for the third consecutive week despite falling under 900 points. They were able to hold off Davichi’s “Will Think Of You”, which is bidding to become the first digital single to ever top our chart. Instead, it moves up one spot to No. 2. Another digital single, newcomer Ailee’s “Heaven”, is not far behind in points at No. 4.

There are two new songs in the top 10. Moving up ten spots all the way to No. 3 is K.Will’s latest hit “I Need You”, coming from his third mini-album of the same title. “I Need You” is written by Kim Do Hoon, who also co-wrote FT Island’s No. 1 song “Severely”. It is a medium-tempo neo-ballad number with incorporates both a 30 member orchestra as well as synths. The music video stars Sistar’s Bora, actor Ji Chang Wook and upcoming young actor (from drama The Moon That Embraces the Sun) Yeo Jin Goo.

At No. 7, it is the brand new song “Touch” from miss A, debuting into the top 10. The rising girl group from JYP is starting their third campaign. This time, Fans will be able to see a more mature side of the girls shown through their charming vocals and charisma. “Touch” is definitely making a strong case to become the new No. 1 song next week.

A song not yet in the top 10 but definitely will next week is Big Bang’s “BLUE”. Because of the timing of release right before the cutoff of our chart, the scores of this song has not shown up yet in some of our chart sources. Still it is already debuting at No. 12 this week. Next week’s No. 1 battle will most likely be Big Bang versus miss A, with K.Will also in the mix.


SOOMPI CHART for 2012, Month 3, Week 1

1. (–) FT Island – 지독하게 (Severely) ***3rd Week @ No. 1***
Score: 885
Genre: Pop Rock

Music: Kim Do Hoon, Lee Sang Ho / Lyrics: Han Sung Ho
Album: FT Island mini-album “Grown Up” | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


2. (+1) Davichi – 생각날거야 (Will Think Of You)
Score: 862
Genre: Pop Ballad

Music: Jun Hae Sung / Lyrics: Jun Hae Sung
Album: Davichi digital single “Love Call With Davichi”
Watch: MV


3. (+10) K.Will – 니가 필요해 (I Need You)
Score: 845
Genre: Pop Ballad

Music: Kim Do Hoon / Lyrics: Min Yeon Jae, Kim Ina, Kim Do Hoon
Album: K.Will Mini Album Vol. 3 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


4. (+3) Ailee – Heaven
Score: 836
Genre: R&B

Music: Wheesung / Lyrics: Wheesung
Album: Ailee digital single “Heaven”
Watch: MV


5. (-3) Se7en – 내가 노래를 못해도 (When I Can’t Sing)
Score: 792
Genre: R&B Ballad

Music: Park Jin Young / Lyrics: Park Jin Young
Album: Se7en New Mini Album | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


6. (-1) Sunny Hill – 베짱이 찬가 (The Grasshopper Song)
Score: 647
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Lee Min Soo / Lyrics: Kim Ina
Album: Sunny Hill Maxi Single Album | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


7. (new) Miss A – Touch
Score: 622
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Park Jin Young / Lyrics: Park Jin Young
Album: Miss A mini-album “Touch” | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


8. (–) Park Jae Bum – Know Your Name (feat. Dok2)
Score: 601
Genre: R&B

Music: Da beatfreakz, Park Jae Bum / Lyrics: Park Jae Bum, Dok2
Album: Park Jae Bum Vol. 1 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


9. (-5) T-Ara – Lovey Dovey
Score: 573
Genre: Pop/Dance

Music: Shinsadong Tiger, Choi Gyu Sung / Lyrics: Shinsadong Tiger, Choi Gyu Sung
Album: T-Ara mini-album Vol. 5 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


10. (-4) Block. B – 난리나 (Nanrina)
Score: 513
Genre: Hip-Hop

Music: ZICO, Delly Boi / Lyrics: ZICO, Park Kyung
Album: Block B Mini Album Vol. 2 | Purchase this Album
Watch: MV


Rank Artist Song Score
11 Dal★shabet (-1) Hit U (feat. Bigtone) 468
12 Big Bang (new) BLUE 456
13 John Park (new) Falling 434
14 Lyn (–) 시간을 거슬러 (Back In Time) 400
15 Na Yoon Kwon (-4) 겁이 나서 (Because I Got Scared (feat. Baek Ji Young)) 377
16 Lee Seung Chul (+25) 잊었니 (Did You Forget) 359
17 Miryo (-5) Dirty 339
18 Teen Top (-9) 미치겠어 (Crazy) 330
19 Kim Bum Soo (new) 애인 있어요 (I Have A Lover) 315
20 EXID (+20) Whoz That Girl 271
21 Beast (-5) 이럴 줄 알았어 (I Knew This Would Happen) 270
22 Spica (+1) 러시안 룰렛 (Russian Roulette) 266
23 10cm (-4) 애상 (Sorrow) 260
24 IU (-3) 너랑 나 (You And I) 213
25 MBLAQ (-10) 전쟁이야 (This Is War) 213
26 Jang Jae In (-9) 다른 누구도 아닌 너에게 (None Other Than You) 212
27 Hyorin, Jiyeon, Ailee (new) Super Star 209
28 Brave Girls (new) 요즘 너 (Lately You) 208
29 Trouble Maker (-5) Trouble Maker 205
30 Lee Ki Chan (new) 아니기를 (Not To Be) 198
31 Jung Yup (new) 입 맞추고 싶어요 (I Want To Kiss You) 192
32 Hyo Rin (Sistar) (-10) 널 사랑하겠어 (I Choose To Love You) 191
33 Monday Kiz (-15) 그림자 (Shadow) 175
34 Brian (-5) 너 따윈 버리고 (Let This Die (feat. Tiger JK)) 160
35 B.A.P (-9) Warrior 160
36 Chocolat (–) 하루만 더 (One More Day) 157
37 Kim Greem (new) 너에게 (To You (Original Ver.)) 131
38 Kim Bo Kyung (new) 눈을 감아도 (Even When I Close My Eyes) 128
39 LEDApple (-9) Time Is Up 123
40 Mario (-12) 문자 (Text Message (feat. Baek Ji Young)) 110
41 Wheesung (-14) 눈물길 (Road Of Tears) 109
42 Ye Eun (+3) Hello To Myself 91
43 Stellar (+4) UFO 87
44 Heora (-11) 달빛이 지고 (Under The Moonlight) 87
45 Davichi & T-Ara (-11) 우리 사랑했잖아 (We Were In Love) 79
46 Dynamic Duo (-7) 거기서거기 (Without You) 70
47 Nine Muses (-12) 뉴스 (News) 69
48 SNSD (+1) The Boys 68
49 Speed (new) Lovey Dovey Plus 64
50 Sweet Sorrow (-12) VIVA (feat. Lee Sora) 62



Ha Hyun Gon FactoryFeeling (feat. Chae Won)      
Genre: Pop Ballad
External from soompi image 
Album: Ha Hyun Gon Factory February 2012 digital single
Listen To: Full Song
Comment: Former Click-B member Ha Hyun Gon released his latest single “Feeling”. It is a British pop number with beautiful melodies. From the introduction, listeners can hear the soft acoustic sounds that flow beautifully with Han Hyun Gon’s vocals. The song is about gradually falling in love with a woman. The lyrics express this feeling of anticipation well. (credits to motoway065 for translations)

About the Soompi Music Chart:

Soompi Music Chart is unlike any other music charts or television rankings.  It takes into account rankings by various major music charts in Korea and airplays of each song, making it an unbiased and objective tally of what’s going on in the world of K-pop.  Our chart is composed of the following sources:

Air Monitor Chart – 15%
GAON Music Chart – 15%
Various Internet charts (Olleh, Bugs, Melon, Soribada, Naver, Daum) – 15%
Billboard Korea – 15%    
SBS (Inky Gayo Take 7 + voting list) – 10%
MBC Inky Top 100 Chart – 10%
KBS Music Bank K-Chart – 10%
MNet Chart – 10%

Thanks to Mardi09 for helping on this week’s internet chart research.